Lack in confidence

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dreamylocks

Reaction score
Ok so I'm a level 2 nvq qualified in Dec 2014.... before this I've been doing hair extenison for a few years. I've just started a self employed placement at a newly opened salon. I'm over the moon I got the job as I did do a trial but was convinced I wouldn't get it. Any way now I've started I still feel miles apart from the other people working there and I'm probably making silly mistakes on people's hair as im so aware of this. Now all my clients are giving me tips and are walking away happy, so why do I feel so unconfident in my abilities?? I also can't do mens hair at the moment so any men / boy hair cuts I can't help with....

The owner has pointed out today it would have looked better if yiu straightened her hair and I replied I did. So I asked the end of the day about this and what to do differently. He told me I need to send more time finishing peoples hair. I'm so used to doing mobile clients, in salon is just so much harder I think ...

Practice makes perfect, you need to spend time in your finish work and make sure you take your time when doing so. Everything will take time and practice, but you need to try and suggest ways to practice on your clients use them as victims, er ...,volunteers! Suggest they curl their hair so you can try different things with irons. Practice makes perfect, and if you don't know how to do something, go to your manager quietly and ask for help.