Looking for Career Advice!!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xInaGhoulina

Reaction score
Hello everyone, thanks for reading my post. Here is the situation i would like some advice on.

I graduated from cosmetology school 2 and a half years ago, and have been working at a chain salon since i graduated. I am not really happy with how i am treated by my company (constant discounts, coupons, disrespectful clients). I am working in a salon that is in a store that allows you to "save money, live better! [insert smileyface]" I have a few really good girlfriends i have made in the past two years, but i am unhappy with where my career is headed, i feel like it is headed no where.

We are a walk-in only salon, and i dont have many clients i see on a regular basis, if they come in and im not there, they usually just will take someone else, and 60% of our clients are elderly people (10% discount, roller sets and really mindless things) and children ($10.95 haircut, 50% of the time parents have found a coupon to make it much less, making my 38% commisssion worthless). I want to go to a salon where i can be the creative stylist like i am, but im scared! I feel like i am stuck, we dont get any education, and i am lucky if i ever make over the $7.50 minimum wage base pay.

Would it be strange of me to call around the city to some more 'high end' salons to maybe start over as an assistant stylist to really hone my craft, or should i just start passing out some resumes? I do good work, and i feel like i am doing alot more work than shows for my measley paycheck. Just wondering what i should do, my husband and i want to start a family soon and be financially stable, but i feel like that will never happen if i am working at these types of salons for the rest of my life. Advice, please, i am stuck and unhappy, but i am scared to take such a leap...