Looking too young, bad for business?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sarah1992

Reaction score
Hey, just interested to see opinions on this subject. I am 21 but I really do look about 17/18 and I feel sometimes that clients don't trust me as they would a more mature lady and that I am just learning and using this as a hobby on the side.

Do you think you would trust a young looking professional (any topic, hair nail & beauty!) to carry out a treatment as much as you would an older person who may have more experience?

Theres no doubt the older the wiser & more experience but then again on 9/10 courses I have been on, I was the youngest person there. This means I might, for example, have 3 years more experience than a lady more mature but I still look like the trainee.

Really interested to see your guys opinions on this, sorry if I offended anybody Its just been on my mind lately :)

I have the same problem except I'm 30 and look 18! When I was working on a client during my training she was asking when I finished school and she was really shocked when I said oh about 12 years ago! So now as I'm just starting out I don't have much experience and look really young too! I think the trick is to be confident that you are going to give them a great service and they will pick up on that and hopefully not be worried about age etc

Meira Xx

I always felt that being an older therapist stood me in good stead so I can see where you're coming from. However my daughter works with me and she is now getting a lot of her own older clients because they see her as being bang up to date so it does depend.

I think that if clients ask about treatments it makes all the difference if you can answer them confidently and competently regardless of age.