Maternity Leave self employed help

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

madam minx

Reaction score
Hi hoping someone can help me, I've searched the internet but can't seem to get a clear answer.
I'm self employed I started at the end of January, after leaving full time employment where I had been working for 2 1/2 years. And found out I'm pregnant :) I fell while I was still employed, I'm now 15 weeks. I've read somewhere that as long as you have been in empolyment 26 weeks before the 15th week of your pregnacy you will be entillted to mat pay. Now I understand this would be from the government, but my question is, do I need to be paying NI as I have not so far, also how do I go about claiming? If anyone has any info or can point me in the right direction I would really appreciate it.

'Maturity' leave? I like the sound of that, how old do you have to be to qualify!! :D

Oh dear, I meant maternity leave lol 😳

If you look here https://www.gov.uk/maternity-allowance/how-to-claim you should be able to download the form, or I think you can pick up paper copies in the Job Centre (not sure about that though, I got mine online). It's a complicated form and you need your pay slips to prove that you have enough qualifying employment, but you will be able to claim if you were in employment until you fell pregnant. I had to claim last year and they paid me fortnightly I think. You will also need proof that you're pregnant, I think I had to submit my MAT1B form that you get from the midwife around 20 weeks.