Mates rates

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GIGGLER

Reaction score
I've been hairdressing for 17 years now and a few of my friends have been taking advantage of the fact that im a hairdresser for that long. I make no money what so ever on their budget hairdos. I'm now pregnant and given up my salon to be a part time rent a chair to spend more time with my baby. So in theory I now pay to go to work and have to take as much money as possible in 3 days. So how do u tell your friends that the discounts have to stop?? Help!! My friends refer to their trip to the salon as a 'catch up'.. To me it's work.. And really starting to resent the fact that the only time I see them these days is when they want their hair doing! Advice appreciated?..

Last edited by a moderator:
I've been hairdressing for 17 years now and a few of my friends have been taking advantage of the fact that im a hairdresser for that long. I make no money what so ever on their budget hairdos. I'm now pregnant and given up my salon to be a part time rent a chair to spend more time with my baby. So in theory I now pay to go to work and have to take as much money as possible in 3 days. So how do u tell ur friends that the discounts have to stop?? Help!! My friends refer to their trip to the salon as a 'catch up'.. To me it's work.. And really starting to resent the fact that the only time I see them these days is when they want their hair doing! Advice appreciated?..

I would word an email saying that you have given up your salon to have children and as your now renting a chair your prices have taken a slight increase, send them a price list in the email also and state you will receive XX amount of discount :) nothing nasty about it but just letting them know.