Medium apricot blonde wanting to go medium natural blonde

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

donatas

Reaction score
First of all I am only a student so please bare with me. At my school we are learning color with Clairol and their numbering system is very odd, here goes:

1 - BLACK
2 - DARK BROWN
3 - MEDIUM BROWN
4 - LIGHT BROWN
5 - LIGHTEST BROWN
6 - DARK BLONDE
7 - MEDIUM BLONDE
8 - LIGHT BLONDE
9 - VERY LIGHT BLONDE
10 - LIGHTEST BLONDE (HIGH - LIFT)

My girlfriend decided she wanted a natural reddish blonde. She is naturally a level 5N but with a VERY strong underlying orange base (unusual huh?)

My formulation:

1/2 an ounce of Miss Clairol 73RG (orange-gold based dark apricot blonde)
1/2 and ounce of Miss Clairol 71RG (orange-gold based light apricot blonde)
of course this made medium apricot blonde

I processed this on her virgin hair with 20 volume developer for 45 minutes for maximum lightening as her hair is very resistant. The color came out absolutely gorgeous, the exact shade we were aiming for but she is not as satisfied with red hair as she thought she would be. She's wanting a medium natural blonde color now. With the orange tones this is probably going to be impossible. Maybe I could tone her back to a 7NG. Here's the formula I'm thinking of using:

Miss Clairol 42D (green based medium ash blonde)