Mobile & Money

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Claire83

Reaction score
Ok, where to start?

I am a mobile nail tech and I have bought all my products from my personal savings to start up. As yet I do not have an account for my business takings, because I wanted to check a few things out on here.

As I have no overheads, and still live with parents so no household bills!, I am wanting to know what to do with my earnings.

This week I completed my first treatment and was given a tip from the client. Do I put all of this money into my 'business account' or just the cost of the treatment? Do I then keep the tip for myself?

Also how do I go about giving myself some money, buying products and savings? Obviously I want to make a profit and have money but I'm completely lacking any business sense when it comes to money.

Any suggestions? Thanks.

Whatever money you make from your business (including tips) has to be recorded and declared to HMRC. What you then do with that money is your business, but remember you will, eventually, pay tax and NI on it.

Also, do remember to keep ALL receipts no matter how small. It all adds up. If you keep simple records of incoming and outgoing money on a weekly basis, it should be relatively simple to complete your annual self assessment. Whatever you do, don't let it mount up for a whole year before tackling it. Tax return time was miserable in my house until I learnt the hard way. :)

However, it may be a good investment to have an accountant finish it off for you because they will be able to advise you on expenses that you are allowed to offset against your tax.

I am not sure but you may also be able to claim a proportion of household bills e.g. it is reasonable to spend an amount of time at home doing your paperwork and using electricity.