Much needed salon advice

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cherrysoda

Reaction score
Hello everyone :)

An ex hairdressing salon has come available in the small village I live in and I have been given first refusal. The village sits between three good size towns and the shop is on a busy main road (has its own parking at the front of it) and is directly opposite a large housing estate so not a bad location. The shop has a main small shop floor and beauty room above. I can get the shop for £65 a week which again i think is a reasonable rent. How's it sounding so far fellow geeks?
Here's the scary bit for me...I'm a nail tech but have been out of the business for 4 years. My worry is that I have no clientele and would be taking the salon on in Jan which as we know is usually a quiet month followed by Feb which can also be quiet. I don't have to worry about paying household bills as my partner has agreed to pay them so I would just need to worry about paying the salon bills and building up clients and repeat business. I know I won't be able to draw a wage for a long time and again that's ok.

Do you think it is a good or bad idea to take this salon on in jan with no clientele. I already have a fully automated spray tan booth I bought years ago that I will put in there and I would like to see if I could rent the room upstairs to a beautician to help pay the bills.
I'm completely in two minds about this....please help!
I forgot to mention that my current job ends in 3 weeks and I have nothing lined up to replace it.

Sarah. x

Omg amazing opportunity :eek: it's a no brainier, you could get a self employed Hairstylist in they would cover the rent too.

This sounds like a great opportunity for you and made even better by the fact you dont have a secure job anyway, your partner is supportive and is willing to take on the house bills so why not??