Nail technicians & runny nose

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shazapoppy

Reaction score
Hi
This may sound strange but have any techs got problems with runny noses since working with nails?

I have been doing nails acrylic/gel & gelish for about 2 years and have noticed in the last 6 months ive had 2 sinus infections & lingering need to constantly blow my nose.

Ive never had nasal problems before, its not an alergy more an irritant. But (and excuse my pun) it's really starting to get up my nose lol.x

Sent from my GT-I9505 using SalonGeek mobile app

Yeah I do. I'm fine at home but at work I can't stop sniffling. I spray a sanitizer I sneeze. I use catkin my nose runs. It tickles all day long. I get home and I'm fine!

Laura xx

Same here! My nose is always snuggly but only when I'm filing l&p and I have a dust extractor too xx

Hey lolli / lauren
I have an extractor as well although it's only a small one, im thinking of getting a face masks for filling especially l& p I think it might be the dust particals annoying my nose, I really hate having to leave my work station to blow my nose during a service, ahhh.

I'm constantly snotty and itchy nose. :(

Me too!!!!! I wonder which product triggers it?

Yes, I get this too! I thought it was just me having a very sensitive nose - glad I'm not alone :) x

It's caused by dust from filing, just wear a mask problem solved :)

Yay, I thought it was just me as well. I'm only doing shellac for the most part in a really nice salon, there's no way I could wear a mask. How do you guys handle it? Sniffle constantly? Wipe your nose repeatedly? Even if I politely excused myself, I can't do it multiple times during one appointment.