Nails post Chemotherapy

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vetty

Lost and happy geek!
Reaction score
Hi guys, I've received the following email and I'd like to know your opinions please.....

"I am emiling in the hope you may be able to help me. Im a Chemotherapy Nurse and I regulary give chemotheraoy that unfortunatly effects the nails to hand and feet. The nails become very brittle, very ridged and can often break and fall off. I am looking into treatments for nails following completion of chemo and was wondering if you had any suggestions to strengthen the nails or would your thoughts would be on a soft false nail extention.
If you could let me know that would be great. I can then pass the information on to many of my patients that are really looking for help."

I was planning to reply suggesting either manicures or Axxium Soak Off Gel Lacquer. Axxium requires no buffing of the natural nail and adds strength without sacrificing some flexibility....... I'm not sure I would recommend enhancements to people who are at risk of their nails breaking easily or coming off altogether but I would really like to be able to help people who must feel very low post chemo treatment.

Does that sound ok? I've not had any experience with this before, so wanted to check before I reply to her.

Many thanks,

I have been asked this question before. It really does depend on the individual. In some cases nails actually come off as well as thin during chemo. Not a good scenario if the person then blames the product. There is nothing in our products that will do harm. With Gelish you do not have to buff the nail 1st so can be a gentle but long lasting treatment with maybe structure gel to help give strength.

It will also cover ridges or other damage that may have been caused.

I would however stress that each person would have to be taken on individually. JMPOV