Nails, Waxing, Eyes.. Where shall I start?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

POLO85

Reaction score
I am a complete Novice with no beauty exp. except for the treatments i do on myself and close friends...

I currently work as a solicitor 9-5 and have just got married, I plan to start a family in 2 years and thought this would be a good time to start looking at business ventures i can do around children.
I love the industry and think its probably my best bet to do somthing i love, but im stuck i have been reading Salon Geek and researching the net for a while now but cant seem to make up my mind on where to start, i have looked into the most reputable courses and believe it would be wise to invest in the training rather than do the cheap/college options..where people seemed to have had to re-train! 2 years will give me the time to build up my skills and let myself loose on the public...

For Nails the course ive decided on is CND... inc. Shellac and maybe Minx

For Eyes... the Nouveou group for extensions tint brows etc...

For Waxing... Kim Lawless... possibly lycon??

Where would you geeks recommend starting out? taking into consideration financial returns and what option is best for newbies ?

This is my first post so please be kind :o

You do sound as if you have done alot of research. Well done!

I would say maybe a good route to start off would be any really. Maybe manicures and pedicures and from there you could do shellac and ten concentrate on doing all your courses from there?

I'm sorry I'm really no use as I went to college and haven't done it individually so really couldn't say from my experience.

Depends on your area and what the demand is. I would suggest waxing as it is a regular treatment that women tend to treat as being necessary rather than a luxury, important in this economic climate.