New career as a Barber

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

barba

Reaction score
Hello

I am interested in learning to become a barber and found this site. There is lots of interesting information on here.

My plan at the moment is to save up money, go on the 10 week full time barber NVQ 2 at Saks Academy and then go to hopefully find a job. I have no experience in cutting hair and am only interested in cutting mens hair.

Is it possible to find work with the course being your only experience? Do most places work by renting you a chair? Is the Saks academy any good (it is very expensive)? Are there any realistic alternative routes in London for somebody over 25?

I think I may be too old for an apprenticeship but will be happy to volunteer if needed to gain experience.

Cheers for reading

Hello

I am interested in learning to become a barber and found this site. There is lots of interesting information on here.

My plan at the moment is to save up money, go on the 10 week full time barber NVQ 2 at Saks Academy and then go to hopefully find a job. I have no experience in cutting hair and am only interested in cutting mens hair.

Is it possible to find work with the course being your only experience? Do most places work by renting you a chair? Is the Saks academy any good (it is very expensive)? Are there any realistic alternative routes in London for somebody over 25?

I think I may be too old for an apprenticeship but will be happy to volunteer if needed to gain experience.

Cheers for reading

Hello

I've just applied to do my NVQ 1 and 2 Barbering at my local college, tbh you wont need any previous experience in doing Barbering when you enter level 1, when you complete level 2 my college gives me an option to go and work as a junior barber with one day at college.