Query for Canadian nail techs

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SelenaP

Reaction score
hello there, me an hubby are in the process of moving to New Brunswick an i'm wondering about whether i'll have to re train for new qualifications to be able to work over there or get a licence? i have a master nail tech diploma at the mo which I trained for in the UK.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance guys

:D

Licensing, or lack there of varies from province to province. I did a quick Google search and found this for you

Nail Technician: 300 hours
Home Salon allowed

New Brunswick Hairdressers Assn.
299 York
Fredericton, NB E3B 3P2
(506) 458-8087 · Toll free: (800) 561-8087
Fax: (506) 458-1354

Maybe if you search the NB Hairdressers Assoc. on Google you might find an email address to correspond with them if you're not yet in Canada to avoid the huge long distance phone bill. :green:

Hope you enjoy your stay in Canada!

hi noclevername thanks for that - i've emailed the nb cosmetology ass bout three times now an no reply from them as i read i may need to resit exam to get a red seal which will allow me to trade - i've emailed a beauty college too an still waiting for them to reply!

i shall carry on with my research anyway - thanks for takin the time to do that tho - very much appreciated! :)

x

Cosmetology Association of New B

New Brunswick Government / Gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick, Canada (new brunswick government site)
http://www.gnb.ca/0368/pota-lst.pdf (from gov site, list of private occupational training schools, perhaps they can answer?)

This is with regards to same for Cosmetology Hairstylist - Apprenticeship and Occupational Certification and it reads

An individual desiring certification as a journeyperson in New Brunswick is required to meet one of the following criteria:

- Occupational Experience (Time in Occupation/Trade)