Removing gels before Shellac manicure

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Loopy loo

Reaction score
Hi everyone !
I am a fully qualified nail tech in shellac on natural nails . I have had a few clients ask me to remove their gels before shellac manicure but as I am not trained in gels I only have the shellac removal products and the last lady I removed them for it took over an hour just to remove them . I did explain nicely that because it had added so much time on to the treatment I would have to charge extra removal time but she got very cross and refused to pay it saying it's not her problem I'm not familiar with removing gels ( but paid for the shellac manicure ) ?? So after this I have asked my clients to have the gel removed beforehand so that there is no confusion etc . My question is do you think I'm wrong for asking them to do this ? What are your experiences with removing gels before a shellac manicure ? Any opinions would be appreciated thanks X

Hi everyone !
I am a fully qualified nail tech in shellac on natural nails . I have had a few clients ask me to remove their gels before shellac manicure but as I am not trained in gels I only have the shellac removal products and the last lady I removed them for it took over an hour just to remove them . I did explain nicely that because it had added so much time on to the treatment I would have to charge extra removal time but she got very cross and refused to pay it saying it's not her problem I'm not familiar with removing gels ( but paid for the shellac manicure ) ?? So after this I have asked my clients to have the gel removed beforehand so that there is no confusion etc . My question is do you think I'm wrong for asking them to do this ? What are your experiences with removing gels before a shellac manicure ? Any opinions would be appreciated thanks X