Round brush blow dry help for student

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aiden Stevenson

Reaction score
Hello! I am a student in a 2 year high school cosmetology program and I'm really behind on the hair aspect. I joined the class wanting to be a hairdresser, but I found myself drawn more towards the nail and skincare/aesthetics aspect of the course. However, I still want to be able to do hair so I have more options when I get my license. I finished my first year of the course, but I spent a large portion of it preparing for a nail care competition so I'm really behind! I know how to do a blowout but I get frustrated while doing it and am never satisfied with the result. The hair always ends up frizzy and the volume is never consistent. I use products that are supposed to reduce frizz but I still can't get the sleek look I want. While I'm in the process of blow drying the hair, the hair always seems to get caught in the brush. I don't know if it's the brush I'm using or the technique. I really want to perfect my blowouts because I know they're an essential part of hairdressing and if I can't get it down I fear I'll never be able to master the more complex points of the job. Any advice would be appreciated!

A decent volume product for the roots and smoothing for the ends combed through. I think it also depends on a good and correct size brush for the length , and also hair dryer. It's quite hard to explain without showing you but good tension helps with volume , I will always blast hair , section from the bottom and use the brush to hold the hair (hair wrapped round from