Setting up new hair mobile and terrified!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mobilehair

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm just about to set up as a mobile hairdresser and I'm terrified!! I've never had my own business before and it is SO scary thinking about bank accounts and stuff. I know I'm probably being daft but I'm even scared that I won't actually get any business and yet I'm a good stylist and have very big catchment area. I think a big part is knowing I need to start bringing in some money as I'm out of work now and we can only just manage on partners wage! Please tell me I'm not alone in feeling this scared!!!!

You know what will put all those fears behind you...just getting on with it! Then you will be too busy to worry.

Go around the banks today to look at opening a business bank account, some are free for the first year.

Then make up some simple professional price lists and start telling everyone you know that you are setting up.

Then set up a simple spread sheet to record any products/equiptment you buy (also keep reciepts) and treatments you perform.

Buy some client record cards and a receipt book.

Contact HM Revenue and customs after you start trading to tell them you have (this takes one phone call)

Then go for it, it's very easy as you need hardy any equipment to take with you especially if you do a full consultation on the phone.

Of course it's daunting but you need to have a positive attitude in order to succeed. Don't put up barriers to your progress by thinking "it's going to be hard" just set out to do it and find "it can be done." Good luck :hug:

Once you get a client it is easy to keep them if you do an excellent job.

Thank you Weezie, you are so right and you made me feel so much better by saying those that to me!! I know it will be fine when I do it!! I have to do it and I'm 'going live' in the next 2 weeks!!!! :eek:

Hi all,