Shellac confusion!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm new to shellac, and although i've had the training, I have a few queries. Please can anyone tell me how to layer different colours, and what are pigments/powders? Also, what is rockstar? And finally, which colours would you all say are the most popular to have in (not including French, as I have that)

Thanks!!:confused:

Hi everyone,
I'm new to shellac, and although i've had the training, I have a few queries. Please can anyone tell me how to layer different colours, and what are pigments/powders? Also, what is rockstar? And finally, which colours would you all say are the most popular to have in (not including French, as I have that)

Thanks!!:confused:

Did you not go over layering on your course? Normally you would layer the darker colour first for example fedora, i would do 2 coats of it curing each for 2 mins then apply a layer of iced coral. You will end up with a gorgeous dark teal. Cure that and then top coat and cure.

Rockstar is a full on glitter effect nail. If you search on you tube for fingernailfixer she has several videos showing the application, you will want the rockstar v3.

Popular colours really do vary but I find my most popular at the moment are tutti frutti, tropix, purple purple, moonlight and roses, hot pop pink, iced coral (for layering not so keen on its own) and all the reds.

xxx

Thank you, I have been looking at other Q & A on here, and everyone has some fantastic hints and tips! We didn't do the layering on the course. I have Rose Bud, Tropix, Red Baroness, Beau and Cream Puff, and was wondering which were the best colours to get next! xx

Good thread!
We didn't do layering either. They just said it could be done x