Shellac peeled off from free edge

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Becca_13

Reaction score
Hi hope someone can help. I'm fairly new to shellac and a few days ago I did 2 sets on my mum and her friend. Same colours, same technique although one had long nails and the other short nails nearly past the free edge. Today I spoke to my mum and she said her friends have all peeled off from the free edge downwards. My mums are all still on and doing really well and still look beautiful. I'd just like some advice as to what may have gone wrong and how to can stop this on future paying clients.

Thanks in advance :) x

Hi was your mums friends nails the short ones?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using SalonGeek mobile app

Do these long nails were in good condition? I mean no splitting and flacking on free edge. I find if there are some splits on free edge shellac won't stay intact and will chip off. Brisa Lite smoothing gel underneath could help.

Would live to see answers for this, i had the same situation with a regular this week with french polish (I did my p.e.p & applied it thin) her nails are in good condition with no splitting & it happened 1 day after applying them, really don't know what it could be :/

Do these long nails were in good condition? I mean no splitting and flacking on free edge. I find if there are some splits on free edge shellac won't stay intact and will chip off. Brisa Lite smoothing gel underneath could help.

This is why I ask if they were the short ones? X

Sent from my GT-I9300 using SalonGeek mobile app

It's nothing to do with the length and it's all about the condition.

Often nails are short for a reason ... They bend, they flake, they are thin etc. neither Shellac on its own nor gel polish will last on nails that are not in good condition ... That is why we have enhancement products to make nails like the ones you describe, longer.