Shrinking with IBD just gel

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xnailsbylisax

Reaction score
I'm new to gel polish so thought i'd ask a quick question for advice.

I did a set today with gel polish on natural nails however on 2 of the nails the polish started to shrink away from one of the sidewalls. The other nails were fine & i applied it the same way as the others (no thicker, not touching cuticle or sidewall) & it only shrunk from 1 sidewall on both nails. I capped the free edge but was just wondering what could have caused it?

Try shaking the bottle more. When I've had shrinkage issues I have shaken the bottle for a minute or so and the problem has stopped. This seems to happen sometimes with really full bottles. HTH

Did you apply the base coat really thin? I find if the base coat is a bit thick this happens. Same with the colour - I keep all my coats really thin. Or try doing just a couple of fingers at a time.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using SalonGeek mobile app

I applied reallythin but didn't shake the bottle. I did another set straight after and that was fine but that was with Geleration. Hope i get the hang of it :(

I applied reallythin but didn't shake the bottle. I did another set straight after and that was fine but that was with Geleration. Hope i get the hang of it :(

With ibd Just Gel Polish you do have to shake/roll it. It is pigmented polish so the pigments settle to the bottom of the bottle.

So what you described as shrinkage was probably in actual fact clear gel.

With ibd Just Gel Polish you do have to shake/roll it. It is pigmented polish so the pigments settle to the bottom of the bottle.

So what you described as shrinkage was probably in actual fact clear gel.

Shows how little i know lol. I will definitely do that next time thankyou x