Solo Operation

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JesseDavidNailDesign

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm doing some research, and just wanted your thoughts on opening a business with just one practitioner. Is it worth it financially, or does a salon need more staff to be successful?

And as clients, how important is it for you to be able to go to the salon with friends? How much do you enjoy the socializing aspect of a bigger salon?

Thanks, in advance, for all your feedback!

It sounds wonderful- no staff!
I think it depends on your overheads re- premesis. Not sure about the social aspect, as clients don't tend to chat to each other when getting their hair done.(I'm hair by the way)
Why not try it for a while, if it is a problem you can recruit.

I'm a sole trader, and it's bloody hard work! But, as Persianista says, it's bliss not having staff.
What I've done is work out what my hourly rate is and if there are people out there whose rate is less than that then I delegate to them. I'm talking about cleaning and accounts stuff.
Of course, you don't really earn any money unless you're working!
One of the biggest things to remember if you're a sole trader is that there is an enormous amount of effort involved in getting the work, not just in doing the work.
It takes about 2 years to build a business and 5 to build a name.

the other down side being a sole trader is the loneliness and of cours ehaving no one to cover for you if you are sick.

there are lots of plus sides, not being let down, not having to compromise. not having the hassle of someone elses bad points.......

tigi