Student planning for mobile business. How to charge and profit goals?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Missashhh

Reaction score
So I noticed mobile seems to be pretty popular on SG (UK), but mobile salon services seem to be non-existent in my area in the US. I live in one of the most populated metro areas in my state, so i feel like this is a niche i can fill and hopefully capitalize on.

I have a name for my biz in mind, but since Im a student I still need to build up my stock. For the moment Im considering doing only Shellac and MAYBE pedicures. Ive selected Shellac for starters given the advice for it here on SG. Most salons around charge $30 for a Shellac manicure. How should I charge??

I am on a lease with my vehicle so i dont really want to run up mileage since i am already near my max...i was thinking of only working within a 5mile radius and adding in the charge for mileage at $.20cents/mile since that is what my car dealership will charge for overage. Is this fair and should i just add in a flat rate fee into my price? My confusion is what happens when I am within 5 mile radius, but I end up traveling 10miles to go to oppose end of the city and then still have to travel another 5 miles back home???

Do I charge what I want to be paid hourly, plus cost of product, plus cost of travel, plus what i want as profit? What would be a good goal for profit? Would it be easier to just charge $30, so I am still competitive with salons but offering the convenience of in-home treatment at seemingly no extra charge perceived by the customer? Remembering, there are virtually no mobile services in my area.

I will only be doing this part time..some evenings and weekends.

b ump

Sent from my SGH-T399 using SalonGeek mobile app