Tanning room or not?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Debbsxo

Reaction score
Hi All - sorry for the long explanation in advance, but wanted to cover everything!

Need some advice please. I'm part way through building works ready to open my new salon end of next month. I've never done tanning but have the option of turning the men's loo into a tanning room (it's quite large).

Option 1 is to totally clad it in washable materials (floor, walls etc & perhaps put a shower base in (or not) and extraction and option two is to clad the walls & get an extraction booth from whichever tanning co. I decide to go with. Cost for booth option is slightly more but not massively. Option 3 is to use the space as a consultation room for my skin are ranges, not do spray tanning at all and perhaps look at lotion treatment instead of spray.

As it's a new venture (& I'm fairly new to the industry and area) I'm not sure what my client base will be and therefore what the call for tanning will be.

So, questions really are - opinions on spray versus lotion application and also whether the further investment in the room or booth are valid.

Any advice/suggestions greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Debbie

Hi Debbie....wow such a lot of options there lol
The problem with many options is exactly as your finding it...which way to go ??

It really is something that only you can make a decision on given what you want your business to become.

Machine applied tans I would imagine are generally speaking more in demand than hand applied tans however it very much depends on the type of salon you operate...upper end spa type operations may well attract more hand applied treatments as in such business the customers are looking for enjoying the treatment itself. .its all part of the trip so to speak as there paying to be pampered.