Teaching manicure in schools?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PixieBeauty

Reaction score
I work in a school, and have been asked to look into running a manicure/nail art course for pre-16s. I'm thinking about doing a PTLLS course, but does anyone have any experience of having done this? Can you tell me what teaching or training quals you had, and what quals you managed to take students through? It would probably be an afternoon a week.

Really would welcome any experience or advice! Xx

I work in a school, and have been asked to look into running a manicure/nail art course for pre-16s. I'm thinking about doing a PTLLS course, but does anyone have any experience of having done this? Can you tell me what teaching or training quals you had, and what quals you managed to take students through? It would probably be an afternoon a week.

Really would welcome any experience or advice! Xx

I have no experience of working in main stream schools or teaching under 16s so I have no useful advice for you unfortunately.
But, I would like to say that this is so cool! The fact that a school is looking to implement something like this says a great deal about how well our industry is doing! I'd love to hear how it goes for you. Good luck finding the info you need.
:D

Thanks! I think it could be great. I would be working with disaffected students at the moment, and I'm actually a careers adviser (by day!) but as I'm CND trained I'd love to have the chance to teach them about the industry, pitfalls, opportunities, myths etc, and get them to start thinking about their possible future careers seriously, like "If I'm gonna be the one that makes it, what sets me apart from the rest" etc? I know so many 16 yr olds who go do a beauty course thinking its a guaranteed job, I want to get them thinking about the competitive side early ;)