UV gel polish - help!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Laura may

Reaction score
i am new to gel polish and appear to be struggling with ibd so i change to asp and yet although i got on with the product much better they are just not lasting?

Please help me or advise what i am doing wrong a loosing the will to live :(

It could be a number of things. Have a search on here there lots of threads like this.
It's normally down to your preparation. If you can't find what your looking of talk us through what you do step by step.
And think are you doing the exact same as when you did your training?

Laura xx

- I file the nails into shape
- with a white buffer i file on top of the nail
- i use a dehydrator in a bottle
- then i use a primer/bonder
- then apply base coat and set under uv lamp for 2 mins
- apply first colour coat and set
- apply second/third coat and set
- then finally put on top coat and set a further 2 mins
- remove with nail polish the access

Have you done any training? Can you go back to the educator for some extra advise? It could be something small that just needs tweaking...you also haven't said if you cap the free edge or not?? Xx

Do you do cuticle work? Xx

yes little cuticle work if needed and yes i forgot to mention i seal the ends

Are you doing the coats of polish too thick maybe? X

Not exactly sure what this means but are you saying you use nail polish remover to take off the tacky layer? Because this could be part of the problem.

Quote: Not exactly sure what this means but are you saying you use nail polish remover to take off the tacky layer? Because this could be part of the problem.

Reply: yes i mean to remove the tacky layer how come this maybe the problem? bit confused as this is what i was shown when i took the course but please any other options are worth me looking into?