Well tips & well-less tips, What's the difference?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cookbj

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to acrylics (oct 08) and was trained using tips with wells which I then blend into the natural nail. I have no problem with this so far. I havnt tried using forms yet and to be honest am quite happy to continue using tips, but my question is:

1) What is the diffenence between well and well-less tips please?
2) Do I have to blend well-less tips?
3) How far do you glue well-less to the nail compared to well tips?

I have read stuff on here about well-less but dont see what the diff between the two types is.
Could any of you expericenced techs please spare some time to help me please?
Its taking me about 2 and half to 3 hours to complete a full set of extensions with french.

Thanks in advance

Hiya

I use well-less tips most of the time, but you will always need tips with wells for some clients ie nailbiters.

Well-less
  • You apply the tips to the very end of the natural nail
  • You use liquid adhesive as opposed to gel adhesive
  • Provided you use liquid adhesive you dont have to blend, you just stick and go!
  • They cut about 20 mins off your service time
  • The client needs to have a free edge for well-less tips, even if its only a tiny one
  • You cant use these on nailbiters
Welled tips
  • Perfect (in fact essential) for nailbiters.
  • Obviously you need to blend these tips and use gel bond.