What do I tell my technician?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lady_Nightshade

Reaction score
Im trained in manicure pedicure but not gel nails (although I have some knowledge in them), so I went to a nail salon to have mine done.

She uses IBD gel, first of all she took off my old polish, then did cuticle work, and using a file buffed the shine off my nail (catching my fingers and cutting them in two areas) :irked:

The she used prep (which stung given the cuts) then layed on clear gel, set that under the lamp, then did the colour, set that, then did the top coat and set that.

It all seemed fine to me (baring the nicks) till the next day when I noticed what looked like burst bubbles on a couple of nails. What caused that?

I couldnt get back after two weeks as I was on holiday so I had a three week fil in appt, the nails had been fine really baring the bubbles and slight lifting on one or two.

For my follow up appt she buffed the nails right down (nearly nicked me again but I pointed it out this time) didnt really get rid of the nail dust but sprayed with prep then put on one layer of colour gel and set it, then one layer of top coat and set that.

I had pointed out the overlays were lifting.

Ive not been happy with the overlays since tbh, the colour was 'washy' and theres little dents all over my thumb nails, the shine came off really quickly and they are lifting really badly, every day I have to seal the ends with clear polish to keep them secure.

Im not using any chemicals or using to much water or doing anything out of the norm to my nails.

Is it the way they were done? Is it the type of gel used IBD not Bio?

I want to know so I can go to another Salon with confidence.

Hi,