What to recommend for a nurse?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lelu

Reaction score
A friend of mine is a nurse and has to wash her hands many many times a day. consequently her nails are quite bendy and thin. The skin around her nails is a bit red and sore. She has hangnails. I've sent her some solar oil but wondered what else I could recommend bearing in mind she's a nurse and can't wear product on her nails. Any advice would be appreciated.

Hemp hand cream from the bodyshop is great x

Sent from my GT-N7000 using SalonGeek mobile app

Cuticle Eraser, Solar Oil and a hydrating hand cream.

I'm a midwife and RN, I agree with the moisturiser comments plus also suggest buffing with a shiner to keep the nail smooth. Bacteria will sit in any grooves, ridges or splits so keeping the nail nice and smooth is bound to help, plus it makes the nails look nice and healthy and adds a natural shine without using a top coat. Thats the reason nail polish is a no go, because if it chips or peels it leaves areas for bacteria to sit and grow.

Once I'm qualified I'm going to add a Nurses Manicure to my price list just because I know first hand all the damage our nails and hands go through using alcohol and antibacterial cleanser constantly. I also think we miss out on treating ourselves to that sort of thing once we can't use polish at work. So I think a good hand and arm massage, moisturiser, cuticles removed, cutlicle oil added, nails shaped, buffed and shined will be a nice pampering and much needed.