What's causing this, is it colour choice?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grace_Hair

Reaction score
I've been hairdressing for 5/6 years now. And I can't remember having this problem before.

But I'm starting to have stripey clients?! [emoji33]
I'm devastated.

I tend to straddle the parting. Always have done.

I tend to vary weaving and leaving. Or just weaving. The below picture is weave and leave.

My sectioning is very fine. Teeny tiny pieces that I'm weaving. I literally cannot take finer pieces.

I've had a lot of clients request reds and blondes or coppers and blondes. Could it be this?

Other than changing my sectioning pattern what can I do to prevent this?
ImageUploadedBySalonGeek1435582846.285141.jpg
ImageUploadedBySalonGeek1435582856.967317.jpg

You're places the foils way too far apart and taking too thick a section.

Try finer weaves closer together.

As my leave?

I'm picking up as fine a piece as I can? There's a few weaves where I could have counted hair strands?

When you see weave and leave are you referring to the negative and positive weave or the subsection you leave out between each foil?

I agree with Cams, however, I find using directional forward or directional backward placement helps to avoid the stripey look. :) xx

Right I take a small section, I weave it. Drop the bit woven out. Colour the other woven section. I then take another section 3/4 of the size of previous section and pin out of way. I then take another section and weave again.
The section I pinned out of the way is majority the section I had previously woven but not coloured.

Kaye. Could you either send a photo or draw a picture of the sectioning you would take? Thanks.

I'd recommend taking very fine slice-like sections not only to weave but for your subsection also. If foils aren't placed close together they will look stripy, unless you're doing hairs width slices.