Wheelchair access

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Isabella

Reaction score
I am a Nail tech in a wheelchair , do you think now that so many more nail techs are in wheelchairs, that companies or training places should begin to cater for us?
I have missed out on courses because there are no disabled facilities. I love my training days and before I book I have to check it out first. Luckily Red 10 are brill at this xx

HI!!
I’m a wheelie nail tech as well!
In my country there seems like middle age in the nail industry, if U are on wheels U are a bother not an asset to the companies.
I have specialized my salon on disabled clients and most wheelies love that they are treated by someone who knows how tuff the life is on hands and nails.
So we just have to carry on.
Best luck to U

Hi, in the UK there is legislation which means that companies who provide public access such as shops, salons etc have to make reasonable adjustments to allow for disabled access to their services. This doesnt mean that they have to spend thousands of pounds on ramps and lifts, it could just be something as simple as offering home visits for their services, but what it boils down to is that a training provider should not be turning you away because you cant access their building, they should be making provisions to accommodate you even if that means a tutor coming to your house.

I am salon based but I do offer mobile appointments for people who have difficulty accessing the salon. We have two steps up to the front door of the shop, then there's another step into the nail/waxing room and as a small business we cant afford the adjustments to make it wheelchair accessible, but I'm more than happy to provide mobile appointments in such cases.