Where am I going wrong with Gelish removal?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jenfleur

Reaction score
hi all,
im having problems with gelish removal and hoping someone may be able to help. so I start by taking the shine off the gelish, then soak in the gelish removal solution, wrap in foil and leave for 15 mins. however it doesnt lift off and takes several attempts before coming off? its really getting me down as the removal is taking longer than the application. please help!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using SalonGeek

Hi when I remove gelish I too use the harmony soak off and use with magi foils saturate the pad and in heated mitts for 10 mins and most of the gelish lifts off the nail plate. Depending on how many layers sometimes it may need a few more minutes but mist of the time it never goes over 15 minutes xx
HTH x

Hi, I've been using gelish for a few months now and the removal is getting easier and easier. I've found that you don't need to buff the top layer, pour some gelish soak off remover into the lid and rip small pieces off a cotton wool ball big enough to cover the nail. Dip in the remover and place on nail. Wrap in foil and leave for 10 mins. Remove one at a time a scrape off with a cuticle stick

The main thing i've found that makes things go quicker is heat:) Acetone works faster in heat, use a blanket, gloves, heated mitts, hot water bottle... anything to warm things up!

DO NOT MIX ACETONE BASED PRODUCTS WITH ELECTRIC EG HEATED MITTS - HIGHLY FLAMMABLE AND COULD CAUSE DAMAGE TO WIRES INSIDE MITTENS. You don't want to shock your clients!

Sent from my GT-I5800 using SalonGeek

As someone else said, do not buff off the topcoat - its quicker if you don't. One piece of cotton wool is more than enough for a whole hand. I use a pump dispenser and hairdressing foil. Remove one wrap at a time so the product doesn't reset.