££ charge or not ??

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fayeleebum

Reaction score
Hello all

I am a trainee tech I guess... I will be starting my star nails course in may (the total tech plus course) And am obviously planning on getting plenty of experience before I advertise myself as a nail tech.

The thing is, I will have to practice on friends and family. Now when I had my tan done the other day the beautician told me that I should definately charge people for a set of nails otherwise i'll end up out of pocket!

I was just wondering what you reckon I should be asking for? I obviously dont wanna be unreasonable but I dont wanna end up outa pocket!
Thanks girlies :)

Well, I thought like this....

.. not everyone wanted nail sticking on.. so I OFFERED them from free when I had just gotten my certificate - I was grateful for them sitting down for three hours whilst I totally ruined their hands with the most rudimentary nail extensions - yes, I actually made their badly bitten hands look even worse... people would be drawn to their nails and would comment....

.. but thankfully they kept the hideous things on long enough for me to do the infills... (I should have been paying THEM)

... but when I understood a few things, got my time down and was happy that my nails would stay on and my guinea pig could go to the local pub without being laughed at... I started to charge them a tenner for my time! Close friends.

If you offered to do everyones nails at a price, and they didn't want to pay... what would you do? You'd have no models...

I agree when i was training what a sight, worse than before i had started, so yeah i wouldnt charge anyone just yet, should be prepared to lose a little money until u get a bit more experience then make loadsa a money :) :biggrin: