A bad full set

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VintageEsmerelda

Reaction score
I'm a nail tech in training and I'm coming to the end of my gel nail extension course. My college has a salon attached to it and I had my first day there yesterday. I did a full set on a client and I came away disappointed because I wasn't happy with my work. It wasn't as smooth as it should have been and bumpy in areas. She was in a rush to leave which meant I was rushing. I'm practicing my butt of in class on other students and home with whoever will let me do a set and I thought my work was ok. Now I'm in doubt. Part of me says it's because I was rushing but the other part has me doubting my work in general. I don't like knowing someone has gone away wishing they never bothered to get their nails done. She didn't say that but that's I felt. Also bumpy is not the type of work I want to put out.

I know I'm still a student but is this normal?

Don't be so hard on yourself.. I'm not even studying yet and can only imaging how tough it would be.. Don't let 1 client get you down.. I'm sure they understand that most of the work done in the Salon are done by people who are training so they need to expect that all the work won't be 100%
Maybe if your able to contact that client and ask if they can come back in as you feel your work wasn't up to the standard that you would normally do and offer to re do them? (Maybe speak with one of your trainers first)
Keep going what's the old saying 'Practice makes perfect!' Everyone started out where you are now
Xx

It is 100% not your fault ,, a client cannot rush you to complete and expect them to be perfect, it’s like if your making a cake and you try and rush cooking it, it won’t work. So don’t be so hard on yourself.