Adive about renting space

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

babeluv

Reaction score
Hi Ya Everyone

I'm new to this, I am looking for help, advice, comments and suggestions.

I am a retail owner i sell hair and beauty products. I have recently moved to a very large property and am starting to impliment a hair salon, nail and beauty services. Many of my new customers assumed i had salon services the demand is so great it would be stupid of me to have one.

Anyway i'll try and keep this short (to late LOL) I would like some advice about charging precedures, acquiring staff, contract or agreement details everything basically. I have researched the net but not had much look.

I will pose my forst question then read your helpful comments and ask my next.

Question 1: How do i charge the nail and hair stylists. I was going to charge a flat fee but from read your messages it seems a percentage would be better. Is 25% the norm?
How would i collect this would it be better weekly or monthly?
How would I know what they've earned, and what percentage to take?

That it for now if you come up with any other information related to charging fees I would love to hear them.
Thank You

If it were I, I would charge a flat fee per week. Ask for what you want and then be happy to be collecting it regularly on a weekly basis. During holidays etc. you are still paid for the space. And no one can cheat, and you do not have to worry that they will be cheating (which they will if they get a chance). Fix the rate for a year with a review at the end of the year.

Also make sure you have a 3 month get out clause where if you or the renter is not happy they can leave or be asked to leave.

If I were renting, I would not like to pay a percentage ... it looks good while you are starting out but later seems a bit much and I would resent it.