Allergic reaction? Please help, fellow hairdressers

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

molliedolliee

Reaction score
Hi I am a hairdresser and I was just wondering if you could help me. I work as a colour technician so mainly just dealing with colours every day. I've been working in a salon for 6 years now. Just recently over the past two weeks I've developed a rash on my face which has caused one or even both my eyes to swell of a morning when I've woken up and then being consistently red itchy and sore throughout the day. I've been to the doctor who gave me some cream and it did help but now it's back again. I've been keeping my make up off my face and haven't changed anything soap or face cleansing wise. Is it possible to have a reaction to the colours on your face when working with them? My hands are fine. Thankyou

I don't think it's a reaction to colour! Colour reacts where it touches the skin but the irratation can spread but I've never heard of having a reaction on the face without tint touching the scalp! Try wearin gloves while applyin n rinsing colour n see if that makes a difference x

I don't think it's a reaction to colour! Colour reacts where it touches the skin but the irratation can spread but I've never heard of having a reaction on the face without tint touching the scalp! Try wearin gloves while applyin n rinsing colour n see if that makes a difference x

One of the other girls where I work is allergic to colour but it affects her hands (which I know is more obvious) but even she has had a bit of a rash on her face when she's been standing over colour. I think I'm just weird if I'm honest it could only happen to me lol. Thankyou for your comment and the advice x