Balayage

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sam Smallman

Reaction score
Hi I hope you can help, I am newly qualified hairdresser and finding it a little hard. I did a lady's hair (mobile) and she asked for an ombré. I thought I'd give it a go and I told her I'm still learning and that it would be experience and only charged for products used. However when I did the ombré i applied the dark to the roots first and then applied the blonde to the ends with slight over lapping, I tried my best to blend the two but when I washed colours off the line looked obviously and didn't really blend. How does everyone else blend the blond in, is it best to do the root application and then go back in to do the I really after. Xx

I still do the root first then I blend into the bleach but that's entirely up to the person, I use a blur brush to blend my lines and it gives me a seamless ombré!

Thank you, I will have a look. I'm finding it stressful it looks so simple when I watch videos but when I do it just doesn't turn out the way I imagined xx

Most of balayage is practice. Visually, it really does come across so easy in those videos. But the motions take a little time to master. So don't lose too much hope! Pay attention to your pressure in application, consistency of your product, the elevation of your section your balayaging (should be 90 degrees from where it lives, like layering in cutting). You'll get it down.