CND Shellac problems-please help!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

perfectly polished

Reaction score
hi i have been doing shellac since november 2014 and i am having issues with chipping. its mostly hit and miss whether the shellac lasts with the clients. most have chipping before 2 weeks are up. now, i am aware that it depends on lots of things including aftercare being followed, nail condition, weather etc, but if i can go through my stages on pep and polish, can you please advise me where i can be going wrong?
all my products are bought from Ellisons and s2 so they are genuine. i have between 1 and 3 clients per day and my cnd lamp has about 85 hours left on it.(i also do artistic colour gloss so i alternate between my cnd lamp and a led lamp for the artistic application.)

for the CND process here is what i do:
1-cleanse hands
2-file nail with a crystal nail file to desired length. if the clients wants a lot filed off, i clip the nail first to desired length before shaping with the file.
3-i always do dry cuticle work unless i see a thick layer of cuticle skin covering parts of the nailbed. i use a metal cuticle pusher to push back cuticles gently scraping off any from the nailbed/nailplate. i have watched fingernailfixer so i know i am doing it correctly.
4-using a nail brush i brush off any flakes of dead cuticle that i have pushed away.
5-any hangnails removed with cuticle nipper. i try to avoid using them but will do if there is anything unsightly that should be removed.
6-scrubfresh. i scrub it onto each nail for several seconds, including the free edge.
7-i inspect the nail, and shape the cuticle again with the cuticle spoon pusher, just to ensure a good shape.
8-a quick wipe over with scrubfresh again.
9-i shake up the base coat, colour and top coat in the Robart hobby paint shaker for about 15 seconds.