Colour allergies help please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lisa82

Reaction score
Hi all, in need of some advice please.
I have a client that I have been colouring for a few years, and about this time last year she developed an allergic reaction to it, was using Wella KP and had never had a problem before. Anyhow, after some searching and skin testing I discovered XP 100 didn't give a reaction, so for about 6months had been using it with no problems.
Last time though, she felt it starting to get sore and red a few hours after the colour was done, so I done another skin test at the weekend to see if it was reacting, and after about 48hours her arm came out in lumps, very sore and all red, was still like that today!
So, she had done a skin test herself with garnier nutrisse, as she had used it last time herself when we couldn't find a suitable professional range that she wasn't allergic too, and so today I used this on her hair.
The thing is, she would rather me use a professional product on her hair, as it's harder to get the colours right etc with shop bought home colours.

So, has anyone else ever came across clients being allergic to some colour products and ok with others?
And does anyone know what to try now?
Have tried patch tests with Schwarzkopf, Goldwell, Ion and all not suitable.

Help me please!! :eek: x

Maybe try the new L'oreal Iona range? That doesn't have a traditional formula. Is she going lighter or darker? You may get away with a quasi. If not you may have to admit defeat and go for an off the scalp application.

I wouldn't use a shop bought one, you may not be covered on your insurance if she develops a reaction to this and sues.