Colour doesn’t last

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tracey xox

Reaction score
Hi, sorry for the essay-
Looking to find out why my clients hair colour changes so much in between colour services and what I can do to stop that?
I have been doing my clients hair for 19 years, I’m the only one to ever colour her hair, apart from a box dye during lockdown,
She’s natural base 6 with about 50-60% gray in the parting and at the front but mostly brown at the back,
I have now tried LK 55/0 +66/0 with 6% all over to cover the gray and keep it close to her natural colour, as she was nervous about starting to colour her hair, this faded really quickly and lightened to about a 7, apart from her being outside most of the day I don’t know why her colour won’t last, she has a colour shampoo, I have used a protector spray the wholesaler recommended, I usually do 25 mins roots and water down the colour and apply to ends for 5 mins, sometimes don’t even do the ends, but it fades so badly I feel the ends and roots would look completely different colours!
I then couldn’t get LK so tried Lomé Paris 5HC+ 6HC 6%, that didn’t cover the gray!
In July we tried NXT 8/00+ 8/13 9% as during lockdown down she her hair had lightened so much so we matched the roots to the new lighter colour, did ends first to lighten them, then roots for 20 mins, this came out lovely, was really happy, but now she’s saying her roots look too dark and can’t afford to have it done every 6-8 weeks so she goes 12 weeks between colours, so wants to tone it down a bit closer to her own colour,
My plan was to use NXT 7/0 with 6% just it’s just a shade lighter,