Confidence

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Starbucks88

Reaction score
Hi everyone, im starting my beauty studies soon but have an issue with confidence and feel knocked back from a previous job...

i had an apprentice job back last year in hairdressing i had just started there (second week) and loved it at first, but after 2 weeks of just being there new i was having proplems with the manager. she would show me how to wash clients hair, offer drinks, answer phone etc, but i had a proplem as she would show me once and then expect me to do shampooing and getting colour out of hair at 100%, and would ask for highlight set ups when shed not shown me at all where things were i felt as though i was on eggshells at work and was not confident enough to stand up for myself when she shouted, i did confront her and say i was a new apprentice and could she show me again how to get colour out of hair properly and she just was really angry and would not show me again. I ended up soaking a woman whilst shampooing and ended up crying infront of clients, at one point she even snatched a hairbrush off me whilst i was brushing a clients hair because i was "brushing the hair too slow"... anyway long story short i quit that salon after trying to sort my issues out with her, and the manager said i was not strong enough to work in a salon environment :sad: this has then really knocked my confidence as i am due to start my beauty therapy studies and i really want to do well in class as its my dream to work as a spa therapist, but i am put off by what happend in my previous apprentice job, and scared i will lack so much confidence :sad: :sad:

Aww, confidence comes with experience and much better to build confidence slowly then go barging in full of yourself 😉 (like your ex boss prob did).