Cuccio gel not curing-help!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeautyByBecca

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie to all this! Currently working my way through my level 2 course in Nail Technology.

I'm having trouble with my Gel Polish application.

Currently I use Cuccio Veneer, and use the Edge UV LED Lamp 12w. According to the manufacturers instructions it should take 30 seconds to cure each layer?

However I have found it actually takes me a minute to cure each layer and actually 2 minutes for topcoat!. I am applying the layers very thin as instructed. The problem is that if I apply it any thinner the polish is so sheer it's almost invisible and I think it would take me about 10 layers to get an 'opaque' look. (Does this make sense?)
In saying that, I do apply topcoat much thicker than the other layers.

Could the problem be with my lamp perhaps? Do you think there is a real problem here as it seems to be way off the manufacturers instructions? Any advice would be appreciated or if anyone has any experience with Cuccio Veneer/ The Edge lamps?:(

I'm just worried because I've been told so many horror stories about the dangers of under curing and over curing etc, and I just want to make sure I'm getting it right.

Thanks everyone!

x

Yes I'd suggest it is your lamp.

I use Cuccio and have never had any issues with it curing. Some colours give coverage in one coat although I always use 2. The colour coats need thoroughly stirred before use too

I would suggest it's the wattage of your lamp that is needing more time to cure. The cnd led lamp is 36watts & still requires 1min to cure colour/top coat x

UV curing has always been 2 minutes, LED is 30seconds so I suspect that is your issue.