Do you all have an accountant?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Poppy's

Reaction score
Hi it's my first year trading and decided to use my hubbies accountant. I got the bill today after he filled my tax return and its £840. I am in shock. Is this a normal charge. I only take about £250 running my little business from my beauty room at home. Didn't think it will be this expensive. Can I do it myself? Help please. X

Funny enough I was just talking about this on another thread.
You can easily do it yourself. I do everything myself and although I have an accountant (which is normally more expensive for a ltd company) he does payroll and just over see's final accounts and gives endless advice and answers throughout the year for a lot less than what you paid.

I have recommended him to a few geeks and passed his details on. His a lovely guy.

Depending how much work he has undertaken I wouldn't of said it's too excessive. Like anything you can get the cheap, the expensive and anything else in-between.

You have to remember most accountants are likely to charge £25-50 per hour. It doesn't take much to rack up a bill like that.

It's very easy to do yourself if you keep good records.

I would be in total shock if I got a bill like that. My accountant charges £100 but I keep all receipts in monthly wallets and a record of incoming and outgoings throughout the year xx

I would be in total shock if I got a bill like that. My accountant charges £100 but I keep all receipts in monthly wallets and a record of incoming and outgoings throughout the year xx

that makes all the difference :)

I've phoned round some different accountants and some charge the sort of money that barely makes it even worth being self employed and some are more competitive.