education - please help

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beautified21

Reaction score
Hi, i wrote a post a while ago as i was confused about which route to go down training wise, as im a total newbie.

I decided on the nvq2 course at my local college, so off i went today, to enrol. First stumbling block.... turns out because i got 5 gcse's grade a-c thats actually classed as an nvq level 2 equivalent, so low and behold i still have to do the nvq2 class(totally understand why i cant jump straight to level 3) but i also have to pay the full whack for this.

Anyway i've come away from college in a bit of a daze, £300 lighter from the deposit. as wasnt really expecting this and was under a lot of pressure as this was the last place on the fast track course...

After getting home and not really sure if i've done the right thing or not, i know for a fact that beauty is what i want to do.... i suppose my question is, is this the best way to do it, or am i spending an awful lot of money to be trained when i could do it with the same results in a cheaper way.

Ie.... train in mani and pedi, then do the nail related things after that which is mainly what i want to do, then tans, lashes and waxing....??

My friend did beauty 2 years ago and didnt even pay half of what i paid at the same college.

I just cant get over that if i had got grade D or below in my gcse's this course would of been free...!!