Gel polish question

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gemma22_93

Reaction score
Hi guys,
Just wondering if anyone could advise re:gel polishes stored in a clear pot?
I use IBD just gel polish and because they are used so often the brush on the base coat goes tatty or spreads out too much quite quickly and I end up buying a new one. I'm ending up with loads of half used base coats with useless brushes.
I'm wondering if it's worth buying empty pots and brushes to decant the base coats into, however the only ones I can seem to find are clear see through plastic or glass.
Would this in any way spoil gel polish or make it less effective?

Sorry if this seems an amateur question - I am a massage therapist by trade an only do gel nails on myself/friends and family so I'm not the most clued up.

Thanks in advance!

As far as I'm aware gel polish is light sensitive and this is the reason why the bottles are completely covered in a blackout style film or plastic coating.

You can get little jars that are black - have seen them in Creative Academy in Manchester. Am sure other places will sell them too though.

You could always cover the bottles with black fabric glued on or mactac.

As far as I'm aware gel polish is light sensitive and this is the reason why the bottles are completely covered in a blackout style film or plastic coating.

Absolutely, they will cure hard if they're in clear pots

Hi guys,
Just wondering if anyone could advise re:gel polishes stored in a clear pot?
I use IBD just gel polish and because they are used so often the brush on the base coat goes tatty or spreads out too much quite quickly and I end up buying a new one. I'm ending up with loads of half used base coats with useless brushes.