Grey Hair Colour change

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sarahjs

Reaction score
Hi, I'm currently studying for the my level 2 part time and I have my mother in law coming into college on Wednesday night. Her hair is dyed black and about an inch of grey route. She wants to go lighter so that it's easier to manage when the grey comes through and I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions on the best way to do this, without the grey being so noticable. Her hair is shoulder length and I will be cutting it as it's in bad condition. If I ask my tutor to much I won't be assessed so I'm thinking of ideas before I go in. Thanks.

Hi there,

The job you are describing is for a level 3 assessment as this is a colour change and i imagine the assessment you are doing is for root application!
If her hair is a true black it will take a few processes (colour reducer/removal) to get it lighter and i doubt u will have the time to do this in your assessment, Hope this helps!

Hi thanks for your reply. I'm not sure which assessment it will be until I decide what to do, we don't have set nights for assessment, we just do whatever we need to be assessed on. I thought it may be a route regrowth but when she said that she wants it lighter I'm thinking maybe highlights. It's a tricky one really, but she can come in college a number of times if need be.

Hi , Perhaps you could get around the problem by doing some prep work at home first ,
I dont know how far into hairdressing you are ?
and I dont know what you are capable of and what you are not

but only if you are competent you could do some work at home first

you could do take some cuttings
and test piece the hair first
and see if your relatives hair will lift up a few shades lighter with a bleach product

then if the test pieces lift up even and well ?

and you have a bit of experience of doing