Help please, overlay peeled off, apparently!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kankan

Reaction score
hi im a newbie and did a ladys nails on saturday, she had 2 month old acrylic on 7 which i suspected was mma as impossible to get off, i filed down as best i could, replaced broken 3 with tips and did a french gel over lay . i know not ideal on top of acrylic but only thing i could do. i asked for pics and she sent me these!
she says they just came off, apparently she looked down and they were gone apart from one that she caught, shes my first proper paying client and have no idea how to deal with it as i cant see how just the white tip on a french overlay can just peel off when the rest has stayed on?! is she a chancer??? please help! apparently her old tech would do her nails with no notice and i know shes not careful etc with them as admitted to chewing sides and pulling them off.

Attachments

• P_20140205_191817.jpg
    P_20140205_191817.jpg
    128.1 KB · Views: 370
  • P_20140205_191901.jpg
    P_20140205_191901.jpg
    144.6 KB · Views: 362
  • P_20140205_192201.jpg
    P_20140205_192201.jpg
    110.2 KB · Views: 340
  • P_20140205_192311.jpg
    P_20140205_192311.jpg
    143.9 KB · Views: 339
Last edited:
I'm not trained in hard gel, can hard gel be applied over acrylic?

When you put gel over a top the tip needs buffing first or the gel won't stick. Not sure if this is the problem but it looks like it maybe?

Sent from my GT-N7100 using SalonGeek mobile app

these werent the tips, these were the overlays, tips are fine apparently. she only had 3 tips on the broken ones the rest were overlays over the buffed down acrylic.:sad:

What gel are you using? Did you cure the tips for long enough before moving onto the rest of the nail?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using SalonGeek mobile app