Help! Taking make-up pics?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sam1206

Reaction score
Can someone give me some tips. I just can't seem to get good pictures, they don't look anything like they do in real life. On me or models! I experiment loads on myself but then can never get a decent picture. I've tried daylight, day light bulbs, my camera phone, my digital camera. With and without flash. I'm tearing my hair out!! It's worse on clients/models as I don't want to embarrass them by taking a million pics. Any help is appreciated x

Last edited:
Need to know this too!

As far as I know the Samsung s4 camera has a 'beauty mode' for taking pics like make up & nails which I'm soo jealous of!

Tough one! I have been doing makeup for 3 years and I only use the professional pictures. (From brides and weddings).

You need great natural light and no flash. I would suggest capturing eyes, open and looking down. But in natural light. So maybe outside?

Lisa 😃

There is no shortcut really to get the best.
1. Hire a photographer.
2. Buy a DSLR camera for a few hundred quid.

There is no shortcut really to get the best.
1. Hire a photographer.
2. Buy a DSLR camera for a few hundred quid.

Good advice.

I have a very good DSLR camera and I get good photos with it but no where near as good as a professional photo. But that's because I'm not a photographer (despite lessons - it's just not my thing!)

Having worked on many photoshoots I know that on top of being gifted with a camera they use a tonne of lights, even outside on a sunny day (because the sun often points in the wrong direction etc)