Horrible lizard skin, please help

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KatieF

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm not a professional, but I've been looking online for some forums and I hope someone can help me here.

I have very fair skin and have been spray tanning for about 5 years now non-stop. A few years ago I decided to stop going to salons (was using tanning booth) and buy a MaxiMist Spraymate. I tan once a week, and use 9% DHA solution: https://www.iqnaturalpro.com/airbrush-tanning-solution-9-dha.html

Lately I've been having a terrible time with my tanning. My lower legs are absolutely awful, covered in lizard skin and it looks like I have some sort of a disease. What makes it worse is I've had numerous comments recently about it and I'm embarrassed and feeling quite ugly.

In a nut shell this is my routine:
  • Shave 2 days before tan
  • Approx 2.5 hours before tanning I exfoliate (St Ives apricot or whatever else I have) and I basically try to scrub off as much of the tan as possible on these problem areas. It never comes off completely
  • (I've noticed every 2 weeks I have to completely scrub my neck/chest area as the buildup gets really bad, but this comes off in 2 seconds and it's ok)
  • I use approx 2oz of solution (total of 2 coats, 1 oz each)
  • I take a quick bath the next morning

I've attached some photos...you can see how bad it is today. Please help....tanning tonight and would greatly appreciate some help. I've also attached a photo of one of my arms, for some reason this week I have huge patches of white skin/tanned skin, I don't know why it's faded so terribly.

20160616_100552.jpg 20160616_100526.jpg

I can't comment on the tanning as I'm not qualified to but your skin looks horribly dehydrated. Do you moisturise? Why not go back to paying a professional to tan you; you'll get the proper service with prep and aftercare advice