How do you deal with clients 'opinions'?!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MissOwen

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm a mobile tech and gained a few new customers over the christmas period. 2 in particular are reliable, regular clients but they have some very different views on certain things!!

Now, i know the general rules... dont discuss politics, religion etc. but i think when you work as a mobile tech, the atmosphere is a little different and people tend to voice their views on more unsavory subjects.

So far i've had to keep my mouth shut and attempt to change the subject on a couple of occasions with 2 of these new clients... one is rather racist, especially when her partner is present and the other has some extreme views on everything from peoples sexuality to wars..... these conversations usually start when they are watching the news or something. They seem to expect confirmation that i agree with their opinions when they voice them!

What would you do? Would you just keep your head down and say nothing or would you sack clients with such potent views on things?

If it really offended me, I'd sack them, but most of the time, I'd either ignore it or change the subject or make a comment to let them know that my views are somewhat different, such as "Live and let live".

If it really offended me, I'd sack them, but most of the time, I'd either ignore it or change the subject or make a comment to let them know that my views are somewhat different, such as "Live and let live".

I agree with this entirely, if they offended me I would get rid but it is life that people will express views on things and everyone wants others to agree with them.