How to charge when newly qualified...

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skye

Reaction score
Hi there, i hope i'm doing this right, i'm new to this :0/

Im going on a bio scuplture course very soon, have done arcylic but years ago... I want to know, how to charge... Do i charge at a discount for a few months..? i know i'm going to be slow to begin with... Please let me know your thoughts and how you decided to do it... :lol:

I wouldn't have a discounted rate. Charge the rate your comfortable with and maybe do some promotions like £5 for the month of September, something like that. It's really difficult to put your prices up especially when when you have regulars. Believe in yourself, if your trained then go for it. Be confident and never show a client your nervous...you know how dogs smell fear. Clients can smell a newbie a mile off. hehehe. hth

Good luck :green:

I never knocked my prices down just because I was new to it... I offered a monthly special, such as 10% discount for this month only. Never, ever let on your new to the business - be confident!

I agree with the above poster - starting with low prices and then bumping them up later on would possibly lose you clients.

Hi...
Thanks for the replies... Now you have said it, i can remember when i trained as a hair stylist all those years ago, reduced prices... It was very hard to put my prices up...

I never discounted either when I qualified! Only to close friends who were helping me with practising and it was also to cover the cost of materials used!
Like has been said once you put your prices up you may lose some clients!

After your initial training, how long was it before you started trading..?