How to you handle people putting you down?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
Hey geeks

I'm so annoyed need to off load with my geek family!
As the title goes how do you handle this?

I'm a small home based nail salon.
I trained in 2008, and kept my training up to date as money permitted me to train. Due to marriage breaking up, the ups and downs you get I wasn't able to set up my business. Finally did in 2012 dec after re-marrying in August 2012.

Yes I hear it all the time that beauty doesn't pay, you got to work long hours, compared to an office job etc.
I work full time in an office job which I've been working at for the last 13 years, simply because it pays the bills & is a secure job. When I opened my business I did not get a loan I funded it by my wages.

It's was slow to start off with, then picked up for a few months, then slow again. Then I had a fall at work so at home for 3 months, in which it was dead. I've always kept up to date with Beauty shows, new products, systems, designs etc.

I work all day, go home sort out dinner as I have a family. Evening I'm constantly marketing, networking, promoting when I don't have clients, as I only do evenings & weekends.
When I can justify it I will drop a few hours at my full time job and concentrate more hours on the business. My salon will always be a top up for my earning until I feel I'm earning enough to give up my full time job.

I keep getting told my own husband you will never make money, it's your hobby your wasting your time. Go do a course, at college or uni and get a proper job which pays enough. I don't want to do that! I've chosen what is like to do, I'm passionate about it, and I know it can work. I told him just coz you have been lucky enough to land a great job near home which pays very good money not everyone's fortunate enough to have that.